What is PixTrakk ?

PixTrakk is a Cloud service dedicated to photographers, illustrators and their agencies. You drop your photos on PixTrakk, in a personal client space. 

PixTrakk detects the usage of your photograph by tracking it in millions of websites and, for agencies, in the French printed press. PixTrakk verifies where, when, how and by whom it is being used.

PixTrakk provides you with the information in an interface that enables you to quickly see all information regarding the usage of your images : copy of the printed page or website concerned, URL address, page number, dates, screen captures, …

You receive an email alert and you can control the legality of the use of your images.

You also have the option of adding one or several fraudulent usage of you pictures that you have identified in order to notify PixTrakk of such cases.

PixTrakk exclusivity : in the case of a fraudulent use of your photos, you can launch directly from the PixTrakk interface, in one click and with no advanced fee, a collection procedure of your rights through a network of international specialized lawyers.

The PixTrakk interface enables you to exchange with a lawyer and to follow the progress of your case.

What is Pixtrakk’s collection procedure ?

PixTrakk legal service works in close collaboration with a network of specialized lawyers who ensure the following-up of your case.

You indicate in the interface the amount claimed in the pre-litigation phase as well as the coefficient of the assessment of the prejudice suffered (default value suggested by the interface). After having checked that the usage is fraudulent, you start the process of opening a case with a lawyer.

The lawyer exchanges with you in direct via the PixTrakk interface and can advice you on how to proceed. He then decides on pre-litigation procedures.  

Any money collected is recovered by PixTrakk, which will then pay you the amount owed (see further down the question “How much from the collected sums, will get back to me ? “ ).

In the case of irrecoverability, with the agreement of the lawyer, you can enter the contentious phase and initiate a legal proceeding. The lawyer will advise you on the relevance and the cost of the procedure.

Why use the services of a lawyer instead of writing myself for the recovery?

The lawyer helps you identify contentious cases which may be prosecuted.

A letter of formal notice from a lawyer has greater weight than a letter sent by yourself. Because it shows your determination to act and it guarantees that your request is well-founded.

What are my rights with respect to my photographs or images?

You hold, on your clichés (or illustrations), property and moral rights.

Property rights include the right of representation, reproduction and the right of adaptation. These rights may be assigned (even free of charge) and last 70 years after the death of the author. They allow to act against any copying or distribution of original photographs made without prior agreement, failing which a reparation order for infringement will have to be paid (once an original photograph is used without authorization, this constitute an act of counterfeit, which shall give rise to entitlement to compensation, regardless of whether the counterfeiter acted in good or bad faith ; the owner of the web site is responsible for any content published).

Moral rights are, in turn, non-transferrable and imprescriptible. As such, the photographer has the right to claim ownership of his work, meaning that any reproduction or representation of his photographs shall always have his name mentioned; and the right to preserve the integrity of his work, meaning his work cannot be amended without the author’s prior permission.

Should I deposit my photos or images with an institution?

No, since copyrights exists from the creation of a work, and does not require formal registration.

Proof of ownership may be available by all means.
It is preferable to have disclosed the work under the author’s name, in order for the author to benefit from a presumption of ownership, but it is not mandatory to do so.

What about copyright?

The logo © (which symbolizes the term copyright in common law’s countries) does not have legal value in most countries.

However, in the United-States, even if it is not compulsory (you also own rights in the United-States by default) it is possible to register through the U.S Copyright Office in order to seek higher compensatory damages and more easily, in case of a lawsuit for infringement. (Go to: copyright.gov FAQ – To register your images, go to https://www.copyright.gov/registration/).

PixTrakk’s specificity in the United-States: In case of a lawsuit for infringement, the American lawyer may register your image through the U.S Copyright Office for you; he is the sole decision maker on bringing a lawsuit for infringement and for registering your image through the U.S Copyright Office (depending on the nature of the case).

What about photographs published on Instagram, Facebook and other social media?

These social media make it easy for anyone to publish photographs.

As soon as the images are disclosed with the photographer’s consent, or even at times by the photographer himself, should one consider that they can be used freely and by anyone?

The question is raised since the general conditions of use of such web sites, tend to say that by publishing content on these sites one automatically assigns all of his rights.

But this goes against many countries Public Policy whereby a sale cannot be presumed and may only be valid under certain strictly defined conditions, and any overall sale of undetermined work of art shall be of no effect.

Consequently, a publication on Facebook or other, does not grant a global authorization by the author for a third party to use the cliché. It can only, on certain web sites, authorize a sharing on the specified web site.

Can a royalty-free photograph be used freely?

By no means. This expression is deceptive.

It does not mean that the artwork can be used without constraint and free of charge. It only means that, once the license is purchased, it can be used for an unlimited duration, on all type of media except those specifically excluded.

On the contrary of Rights Managed Images that can only be used for a limited duration and on restricted and defined media.

Is the infringer entitled to raise exceptions to copyright?

The law establishes a few exceptions to copyright.

The exception for « information » is very rarely applicable since it has to be « hot » news, the photograph has to be directly related to current events and the photo should serve the discussion. In any case, the name of the author must be mentioned. In addition, in accordance with part of the jurisprudence, this exception does not apply to photographic works ( which cannot be considered as being part of the “Graphic Works of Art” as referred to in the law).

The exception for « analyses and short quotes » does not apply to photographs, since the photograph has to be reproduced in its entirety.

What about the rights of the person photographed?

As a rule, whenever a person is recognizable, this person can counteract the exploitation of the photograph.

Therefore, an authorization from the person photographed is necessary prior to the publication of your photographs. However, there are tempering to this, linked to the right to information, if the picture was taken in a public space (In the absence of a tight shot on one person in particular) and is of a public person (for whom there is, in the context of their professional activity, a presumption of tacit authorization for the representation of their image), or a news event (if the image represents a relevant information in relation to the public-interest discussion and illustrate current affairs).

In France, the damages and interests are relatively low, except when creating a genuine prejudice.

How many pictures or images can I put on Pixtrakk ?

The PixTrakk standard yearly subscription allows you to upload 3000 photographs.

But it is possible to upload more. If such is your need, contact us

At what format should my pictures or images be ?

The image files must be compressed and comply with the following specifications :

  • saved as JPEG
  • in low resolution with a minimum of 400 x 600 pixels.

However, so you don’t have to retouch your images, you can load medium or high-res images onto PixTrakk, they will automatically be adjusted to the appropriate format.

What is the first thing to ask when PixTrakk finds one of my images on a website?

Verify that you are the owner of the copyright of the image (that the rights were not transferred) and verify that the usage is unauthorised.

This verification should be done thoroughly. Indeed, once the case is passed on to the lawyer, if you request to close the file, the lawyer will have the right to ask for a lump sum which shall be deducted from your next payment of recovered rights (see question “Is it possible to close a collection procedure once it is in the hand of a lawyer?” below).

Is it possible to simply ask the infringer to add the photographer’s copyright or to remove a picture?

Yes, if you do not wish to start a collection procedure but to simply warn the infringer of your rights, you can specify this in the « comment » box and when filling in the reproduction right box, just put in a symbolic 1€ fee.

What would be a reasonable amount to ask the infringer?

At least, the amount the infringer should have paid if he had sought to get a licence, increased because of an unauthorised usage.

This depends on many factors, in particular the media it is printed on, the size of the image, its position, the number of clicks / the importance of the publication and the duration of use.

The damages are increased in case of infringement of moral rights, in particular in the case of infringement of authorship right (the right to have his or her name associated with the image – the expression “DR” being worth nothing), and in the case of the right to the integrity of the work (the right to oppose any modification of the image with prior authorisation).

In the United-States, in some cases, the amounts also depend on whether or not the images have been registered with the U.S. Copyright Office (see above question “What about copyright?“).

Finally, an infringement entitles to claim reimbursement of the lawyer’s fee which shall be added by the lawyer to the required compensation.

How much from the collected sums, will get back to me ?

If the counterfeiter site is French, PixTrakk will refund you 60% of the indemnities recovered for the illegal use of your photos (The balance will cover initial lawyer fees to monitor the cases, technical and service fees). Counsel adds to the amount claimed a sum for legal fees.

If the counterfeiter site is based oversee, PixTrakk will refund you 55% of the indemnities recovered for the illegal use of your photos.

Is it possible to close a collection procedure once it is in the hand of a lawyer?

A PixTrakk collection procedure case can be, in consultation with the lawyer and if mutually agreed, closed. Or at the lawyer’s initiative given the file submitted (who shall inform you via the platform; you can at any time discuss this with him).

However, if you decide unilaterally to close the case after the declaration has been submitted to the lawyer, a lump-sum of 150€ (VAT excluded) shall be withheld and deducted from your next recovered royalty statement.

Are all fraudulent uses of my pictures or images covered ?

The law firm who is in charge of your case, works hard to recover the amount owed in case of fraudulent use of your photos or images (original work). Nevertheless, the complexity and extent of the possible usage and countries of origins of the fraud or the impossibility to contact the counterfeiter, does not always make it possible to recover all claims.

However, even when recoveries are partial, the protection of the photographer’s rights by PixTrakk, and this without having to pre-pay any lawyer fee, is a service greatly appreciated by our users.

Can a former client objects to the settlement of a compensation?

The photographer holds copyright on his images regardless of the paper-based medium. It is not because you are selling an image that you are selling the rights of your art work. In the absence of a written transfer of intellectual property rights, your clients have, a priori, no rights to represent, reproduce or adapt the work of art. This also applies to commission contracts.

To be valid, the sale must respect certain formalities since each of the assigned rights should be mentioned separately, also the field of exploitation of the assigned rights should be defined with respect to coverage, destination, location and duration.

We shall remind you that your moral rights are not transferable. Meaning that, any terms through which you may have renounced to the authorship of a work, are void, and you may – at any time – ask a person who is using your work to add your copyright.

Accordingly, a former client can only object to the settlement of a compensation, if the usage is consistent with the transfer of copyright agreed upon.

As soon as the photograph is used beyond the initially agreed date, or on media which has not been approved such as another web site than the one referred to in the right assignment agreement, it is clearly a counterfeit.

Where can I find the general conditions of subscription ?

The general conditions of subscription  to the PixTrakk service for the web can be found at the bottom of this site or by clicking on the following link : CGV PixTrakk Web

Qu’est-ce que PixTrakk ?

PixTrakk est un service en Cloud, dédié aux photographes, aux illustrateurs et à leurs agences. Vous déposez des photos sur PixTrakk dans un espace qui vous est dédié.

PixTrakk détecte l’utilisation de vos photos en les traçant sur des millions de sites web et, pour les agences, sur la presse papier française. PixTrakk vérifie où, quand, comment, par qui elles sont utilisées.

PixTrakk vous fournit les informations dans une interface qui vous permet de voir en un coup d’œil les informations sur l’utilisation de vos images : copie de la page papier ou du site web concerné, url, n° de pages, dates, captures d’écran…

Vous recevez une alerte par mail et vous contrôlez la légalité de l’usage de vos images.

Vous avez également la possibilité d’ajouter l’usage illicite d’une ou plusieurs de vos images que vous auriez repéré pour porter le cas à la connaissance de PixTrakk.

L’exclusivité PixTrakk : en cas d’usage illicite de vos photos, et sans avancer un euro, vous lancez en un clic le recouvrement de vos droits par un réseau d’avocats international spécialisé, depuis l’interface PixTrakk

L’interface PixTrakk vous permet ensuite de dialoguer avec l’avocat et de voir l’avancée de votre dossier.

En quoi consiste la prestation de recouvrement PixTrakk ?

Le service juridique de PixTrakk travaille en collaboration avec un réseau d’avocats spécialisés qui assurent le suivi de vos dossiers.

Vous indiquez dans l’interface le montant des sommes réclamées dans le cadre de la phase pré-contentieuse et le coefficient d’évaluation du préjudice subi (valeur par défaut proposée par l’interface) et, après avoir bien vérifié que l’usage de l’image concernée est bien illicite, vous déclenchez l’ouverture d’un cas auprès d’un avocat.

L’avocat dialogue en direct avec vous, via l’interface PixTrakk, et vous conseille sur la démarche à suivre. Il décide s’il y a lieu d’entamer des démarches pré-contentieuses.

Les sommes recouvrées sont récupérées par PixTrakk qui vous reverse la somme qui vous est due (voir la question “Quelles sommes recouvertes me reviennent” dans la suite de ce FAQ).

En cas d’impossibilité de recouvrement, en accord avec l’avocat, vous pouvez entrer en phase contentieuse et déclencher une procédure judiciaire. L’avocat vous conseillera sur l’opportunité de la démarche et son coût.

Pourquoi passer par un avocat plutôt que d’écrire moi-même pour le recouvrement ?

L’avocat vous aide à déterminer les cas litigieux pouvant être poursuivis.

Une lettre de mise en demeure d’avocat a plus de poids qu’une lettre adressée par vos soins car cela montre votre détermination à agir et c’est un gage du bien fondé de votre demande.

Quels sont mes droits sur mes photographies ou mes images

Vous détenez sur vos clichés (ou illustrations) originaux des droits patrimoniaux et moraux.

Les droits patrimoniaux comprennent le droit de représentation, de reproduction et d’adaptation. Ces droits peuvent être cédés (même à titre gratuit) et durent 70 ans suivants la mort de l’auteur. Ils l’autorisent à s’opposer à toute diffusion ou reproduction de photographies originales sans son accord préalable, sous peine de lui devoir une réparation pour contrefaçon (dès lors qu’une photographie originale est utilisée sans autorisation, cela constitue un acte de contrefaçon, qui ouvre droit à des dommages et intérêts, que le contrefacteur soit de mauvaise foi ou de bonne foi ; le titulaire du site internet est responsable de tout ce qui y est publié).

Les droits moraux sont quant à eux incessibles et imprescriptibles. A ce titre, le photographe jouit notamment d’un droit à la paternité sur ses œuvres, ce qui signifie que toute reproduction ou représentation de ses photographies devront impérativement mentionner son nom ; et d’un droit à l’intégrité de l’œuvre, ce qui signifie que son œuvre ne peut être modifiée sans son autorisation préalable.

Dois-je avoir déposé mes photos ou images auprès d’un organisme ?

Non, les droits d’auteur existent dès la création de l’œuvre, sans qu’il soit nécessaire de faire le moindre dépôt.

La preuve de la titularité peut se rapporter par tout moyens. Il est préférable d’avoir divulgué l’œuvre sous son nom pour pouvoir bénéficier d’une présomption de titularité mais cela n’est pas obligatoire.

Quid du copyright ?

Le logo © (qui symbolise le terme copyright dans les pays de common law) n’a pas de valeur juridique en France.

Néanmoins aux Etats-Unis, même si ce n’est pas obligatoire (vous détenez les droits aux Etats-Unis également par défaut), il est possible de faire un dépôt auprès de l’U.S. Copyright Office pour obtenir des dommages et intérêts plus conséquents et plus facilement en cas de poursuites devant une juridiction pour usage contrefaisant. (Voir le faq de copyright.gov – Pour déposer ses images, voir https://www.copyright.gov/registration/).

La spécificité de PixTrakk aux Etats-Unis : dans le cadre de poursuites devant une juridiction pour usage contrefaisant, l’avocat américain peut décider de faire un dépôt auprès de l’U.S. Copyright Office en votre nom ; il est seul décisionnaire de l’opportunité de faire une poursuite et de faire un dépôt auprès de l’U.S. Copyright Office, selon la nature du dossier.

Quid des photos qui sont publiées sur Instagram, Facebook et autres média sociaux ?

Ces média sociaux permettent à tout un chacun de publier des photographies.

A partir du moment où elles ont été divulguées avec l’autorisation du photographe et même parfois par le photographe, faut-il considérer qu’elles sont librement exploitables par tous ?

La question est soulevée car les Conditions Générales d’Utilisation de ces sites tendent à dire qu’en publiant des contenus sur ces sites, on cède automatiquement tous ses droits.

Mais cela va à l’encontre de l’ordre public français selon lequel une cession ne se présume pas et n’est valable que si elle remplit certaines conditions très strictement définies, et toute cession globale sur des œuvres indéterminées est en principe nulle. La jurisprudence française l’a rappelé maintenant à maintes occasions.

Dès lors, une publication sur Facebook ou autre n’emporte en aucun cas une autorisation globale de la part de l’auteur à tous tiers d’utiliser le cliché. Elle peut uniquement sur certains sites autoriser un repartage sur ledit site.

Une photographie « libre de droits » peut-elle être librement utilisée ?

Absolument pas. Cette expression est un faux ami.

Elle ne signifie pas que l’œuvre puisse être utilisée gratuitement et librement. Elle signifie uniquement que, une fois la licence acquise, elle peut être utilisée pour une durée illimitée, sur tous supports sauf ceux expressément exclus.

A l’inverse des images de droits gérés qui ne peuvent être utilisées que pour une durée délimitée et pour des supports limitativement définis.

Le contrefacteur peut-il invoquer des exceptions au droit d’auteur ?

La loi instaure quelques exceptions au droit d’auteur.

L’exception « d’information » trouve très rarement à s’appliquer car il faut que l’information soit brulante, que la photo soit en lien direct avec l’actualité et que la photo serve vraiment le débat. En tout état de cause, le nom de l’auteur doit impérativement être mentionné. Par ailleurs, selon une partie de la jurisprudence, cette exception ne concerne pas les œuvres photographiques (qui ne peuvent entrer dans la catégorie des « œuvres d’art graphique » visées par la loi).

L’exception des « analyses et courtes citations » n’est pas applicable aux photographies car la photographie est reproduite en entier.

Quid du droit à l’image des personnes photographiées ?

En principe dès lors qu’une personne est reconnaissable, elle peut s’opposer à l’exploitation de la photographie. Il convient donc d’obtenir l’autorisation des personnes représentées avant la publication de vos photos.

Néanmoins, il y a des tempéraments à cela liés au droit à l’information si l’image est prise dans un lieu public (en l’absence de cadrage restrictif sur une personne en particulier), qu’elle concerne une personne publique (pour lesquelles il existe une présomption d’autorisation tacite pour la représentation de leur image dans le cadre de leurs activités professionnelles) ou un événement d’actualité (si l’image apporte une information pertinente par rapport au débat d’intérêt public et illustre une actualité immédiate).

En France, les dommages et intérêt sont relativement faibles, sauf à établir un véritable préjudice.

Combien de photos ou d’images puis- je mettre sur PixTrakk ?

L’abonnement annuel standard de PixTrakk permet de mettre 3000 photos.

Mais il est possible d’en mettre beaucoup plus. Si tel est votre besoin, nous contacter.

Quel doit être le format de mes photos ou images ?

Les fichiers images doivent être compressés et répondre aux caractéristiques suivantes :

  • format JPEG uniquement,
  • en basse définition avec un minimum de 400 x 600 pixels.

Néanmoins, pour vous éviter d’avoir à retoucher vos images, vous pouvez charger sur PixTrakk des photos en moyenne ou haute définition, elles seront automatiquement compressées au format adéquat.

Quel est la première question à se poser lorsque PixTrakk trouve une de mes images sur un site ?

Bien vérifier que vous êtes titulaire des droits d’auteur sur l’image (que les droits n’ont pas été cédés) et que l’usage est bien non autorisé.

Cette vérification doit être faite avec soin. En effet, une fois passé à l’avocat, si vous demandez la fermeture du dossier, il sera en droit de réclamer une somme forfaitaire déduite de votre prochain relevé de droits recouvrés (voir la question « Puis-je fermer un dossier de recouvrement que j’ai passé à un avocat ? » ci-après).

Est-il possible de faire une simple demande d’ajout de crédit photographe ou de retrait d’image au contrefacteur ?

Oui, si vous ne souhaitez pas lancer de procédure de recouvrement mais simplement avertir le contrefacteur de vos droits, vous pouvez le notifier dans la zone « commentaires » en complétant le montant des droits de reproduction par 1€ symbolique.

Quelle indemnité peut-on raisonnablement demander au contrefacteur ?

A minima le montant que le contrefacteur aurait dû payer s’il avait demandé une licence, majoré du fait de l’utilisation non autorisée.

Cela dépend de plusieurs facteurs, notamment du support, de la taille de l’image, de son emplacement, du nombre de vue / de l’importance de la parution et de la durée d’utilisation.

Les dommages et intérêts sont augmentés en cas de violation des droits moraux, en particulier en cas d’atteinte au droit à la paternité (droit de voir son nom associé à l’image – l’expression « DR » ne valant rien) et au droit à l’intégrité de l’œuvre (droit de s’opposer à ce que la photographie soit modifiée sans autorisation).

Aux Etats-Unis, dans certains cas, les sommes sont aussi dépendantes du fait que l’image soit déposée auprès de l’U.S. Copyright Office ou non (voir la question « Quid du copyright ? » ci-avant).

Enfin, une contrefaçon ouvre droit au remboursement des frais d’avocat qui seront ajoutés par l’avocat à l’indemnité demandée.

Quelles sommes recouvrées me reviennent ?

Si le site contrefacteur est français PixTrakk vous reverse 60% des indemnités recouvrées au titre de l’usage illicite des photos , le solde permettant de couvrir les frais de contrôle des dossiers par un avocat, les frais de la plate-forme et du service associé. L’avocat ajoute à la somme réclamée au contrevenant au titre des indemnités, une somme au titre des honoraires d’avocat.

Si le site contrefacteur est basé à l’étranger, PixTrakk vous reverse 55% des indemnités recouvrée au titre de l’usage illicite des photos.

Puis-je fermer un dossier de recouvrement que j’ai passé à un avocat ?

Un dossier de recouvrement PixTrakk peut être fermé d’un commun accord avec l’avocat, ou sur l’initiative de l’avocat au vu du dossier (qui vous informera par la plateforme ; vous pouvez à tout moment en discuter avec lui).

Par contre, après déclaration d’un cas auprès d’un avocat, si vous décidez unilatéralement de fermer le cas, une somme forfaitaire de 150€HT peut être retenue et déduite de votre prochain relevé de droits recouvrés.

Tous les cas d’usage frauduleux de mes photos ou images peuvent-ils être recouvrés ?

Le Cabinet d’Avocat qui suit votre dossier fait le maximum pour recouvrer les sommes en cas d’usage frauduleux de vos photos ou images originales (ou de vos œuvres). Néanmoins, la complexité et l’étendue des usages possibles et des pays originaires de la fraude ou l’impossibilité de remonter au contrefacteur ne permettent pas de recouvrir l’ensemble des sommes.

Cependant, même avec un recouvrement partiel, la défense de leurs droits par PixTrakk, et ce sans avoir à avancer les frais d’avocat, est un service très apprécié des utilisateurs.

Un ancien client peut-il s’opposer au règlement d’une indemnité ?

Le photographe détient sur ses clichés originaux les droits d’auteur indépendamment du support papier. Ce n’est pas parce que vous vendez un cliché que vous vendez vos droits sur l’œuvre. En l’absence de cession de droits, vos clients n’ont a priori aucun droit de représenter, de reproduire ou d’adapter l’œuvre. Cela est vrai même pour les contrats de commandes.

Pour être valable, la cession doit respecter un certain formalisme puisque chacun des droits cédés doit faire l’objet d’une mention distincte et le domaine d’exploitation des droits cédés doit être délimité quant à son étendue et sa destination, quant au lieu et sa durée.

Rappelons que vos droits moraux sont incessibles c’est-à-dire que toutes les clauses par lesquelles vous auriez pu renoncer à votre paternité sur l’œuvre sont nulles et vous pouvez demander à n’importe quel moment à une personne utilisant une de vos images d’ajouter votre crédit.

En conséquence, un ancien client pourra s’opposer au règlement d’une indemnité uniquement si l’usage est bien conforme à la cession de droits consentie.

Dès lors que la photographie est utilisée au-delà de la durée convenue ou pour des supports non autorisés tel qu’un autre site internet que celui visé dans la cession, il s’agit bien d’une contrefaçon.

Où puis-je voir les conditions générales de souscription ?

Les conditions générales de souscription au service PixTrakk pour le web sont accessibles en bas de page de ce site ou en cliquant sur le lien suivant : CGV PixTrakk Web